Sign In

Bulletin No.: 2016-31
November 9, 2016


SUBJECT: Director Election Results

The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas (Bank) is pleased to announce the results of the 2016 election for five positions on the Bank's Board of Directors (Board), which consisted of two independent directorships and three member directorships – one representing the state of Louisiana and two representing the state of Texas. The Louisiana and Texas member directorships have a four-year term commencing January 1, 2017 and expiring December 31, 2020. There were no member director seats to be filled this year for the states of Arkansas, Mississippi, or New Mexico.

Joseph F. Quinlan, Jr. was re-elected as a Louisiana member director, Tim H. Carter and William W. Hoskins were re-elected as Texas member directors, and Cheryl D. Alston and Margo S. Scholin (incumbent) were elected as independent directors. Neither independent director seat was designated as a public interest directorship. 

The total number of votes eligible to be cast in the election for independent directors was 4,026,005. The total number of votes eligible to be cast for the Louisiana and Texas member director seats was 430,045 and 2,462,964, respectively. In the election for the Louisiana member director seat, a total of 48 valid ballots were received; a total of 167 valid ballots were received for the Texas member director seats; and, for the independent director seats, a total of 213 valid ballots were received.

The detailed results of the election were as follows:


Louisiana Member Director                                          Number of votes


Casey G. Kucera                                                                         13,239

Vice President of Finance

Jefferson Financial Credit Union

7701 Airline Drive

Metairie, LA 70003


Joseph F. Quinlan, Jr.                                                              179,950


First National Bankers' Bank

7813 Office Park Blvd.

Baton Rouge, LA 70809


Texas Member Directors                                               Number of votes

Dean O. Bass                                                                            183,817

Chairman & CEO

Spirit of Texas Bank, SSB

625 University Drive E.

College Station, TX 77840


David Bleazard                                                                          144,525

President & CEO

First Service Credit Union

16430 Park Ten Place #1

Houston, TX 77084


Tim H. Carter                                                                            445,761

President, North Texas Region

Southside Bank

1320 S. University Drive

Suite 900

Fort Worth, TX 76107


J. Mays Davenport                                                                    208,262

Executive Vice President & CFO

LegacyTexas Bank

5851 Legacy Circle

12th Floor

Plano, TX 75204


S. David Deanda                                                                         47,625


Lone Star National Bank

520 East Nolana Avenue

McAllen, TX 78504


Randall Dixon                                                                            129,312

President & CEO

Energy Capital Credit Union

18540 Northwest Freeway

Houston, TX 77065


Wade Donnell                                                                            127,833

President & CEO

National Bank of Texas at Fort Worth

2535 NE 28th Street

Fort Worth, TX 76106


John L. Holt, Jr.                                                                           84,676

President & CEO

NexBank, SSB

2515 McKinney Avenue

Suite 1100

Dallas, TX 75201


William W. Hoskins                                                                  579,272

President, Chairman & CEO

First Community Bank Corpus Christi

416 North Water Street

Corpus Christi, TX 78401


Roger Sebesta                                                                            47,653

Executive Vice President & CFO

Wallis State Bank

6510 Rail Road

Wallis, TX 77485


Tom E. Turner                                                                            113,723

Chairman & CEO

The First Star Bank

402 9th Street

Abernathy, TX 79311


Independent Directors


Cheryl D. Alston                                                                     1,093,026

Executive Director

Dallas Employees' Retirement Fund

600 North Pearl Street

Suite 2450

Dallas, TX 75201


Margo S. Scholin                                                                   1,011,962


3515 Cason Street

Houston, TX 77005


As required, Ms. Alston and Ms. Scholin each received at least 20 percent of the votes eligible to be cast in the election in order to fill the directorship for which they were nominated. Ms. Alston will serve a four-year term commencing January 1, 2017 and expiring December 31, 2020. Ms. Scholin will serve a three-year term commencing January 1, 2017 and expiring December 31, 2019. Biographical information on the independent directors is provided below.

If you have any questions regarding the election process, please contact Bre Chapman, Corporate Secretary, at 214.441.8459.




Sanjay K. Bhasin

President and Chief Executive Officer


Biographical Information for the Independent Directors:


Cheryl D. Alston has more than 20 years' experience in the financial services industry. Since 2004, she has served as Executive Director and Chief Investment Officer of the Employees' Retirement Fund of the City of Dallas, a $3.2 billion pension plan for the city's civilian employees. In that role, Ms. Alston is responsible for strategy development, finance, operations and investments. She previously served in financial and management roles with Cigna Corporation and Chase Global Securities. In 2011, Ms. Alston was appointed by President Barack Obama to the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation (PBGC) Advisory Committee and served two terms ending in 2016. The PBGC has over $80 billion in assets and protects the retirement incomes of more than 44 million Americans. Ms. Alston has an M.B.A. in Finance from the Leonard N. Stern School at New York University and a B.S. in Economics from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.


Margo S. Scholin is a retired partner of the law firm of Baker Botts, L.L.P. in Houston, Texas. As a member of the law firm's Corporate Section, she specialized in corporate and securities law, including securities law reporting, corporate transactions and governance, corporate finance and the issuance of debt and equity securities. Ms. Scholin joined Baker Botts, L.L.P. in 1983 and was a partner from 1991 until her retirement in December 2010. She currently serves on the board of directors of the University of Houston Law Center Law Review. From 1997 to 2004, she served as chair of the Regulatory Committee of the Texas State Board of Health. Ms. Scholin is a past chairman of the board of directors of the Houston Area Women's Center, a non-profit agency serving victims of domestic violence and sexual abuse and has served on numerous other non-profit boards. She currently serves as Chairman of the Strategic Planning, Operations and Technology Committee of the Bank's Board of Directors.