Skip Navigation

About Us

About FHLB Dallas

The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas (FHLB Dallas) is a part of the Federal Home Loan Bank System, created by an Act of Congress and signed into law by President Herbert Hoover on July 22, 1932, to provide capital for mortgage funding during the Great Depression.

The System has 11 banks around the United States, serving as an affordable, flexible source of funding for some 7,000 financial institutions. FHLB Dallas is one of these 11 banks.

A Bank for Our Members

Each of the 11 Federal Home Loan Banks is organized as a cooperative, owned by its member institutions and operating independently, receiving no taxpayer assistance. Several types of financial institutions are eligible for membership in the Federal Home Loan Bank System:

  • Banks
  • Credit unions
  • Community development financial institutions
  • Thrifts
  • Insurance companies

FHLB Dallas, with total assets of $125.1 billion as of March 31, 2024, serves approximately 800 members and associated institutions across our five-state District of Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico and Texas. FHLB Dallas provides financial products and services including advances (loans to members) and grant programs for affordable housing and economic development.