Skip Navigation
  • January 13, 2021

Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas Announces 2021 Advisory Council Members

DALLAS, TEXAS, January 13, 2021 – The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas (FHLB Dallas) is pleased to announce the appointment of two new members of its Affordable Housing Advisory Council (Advisory Council) and four reappointments.

New members: 
  • ‚ÄčDr. Calvin R. King Sr., Arkansas
  • Ms. Deborah Welchel, Texas
  • Mr. Samuel Sanders, Louisiana
  • Ms. Michelle DenBleyker, New Mexico (Previously represented Texas)
  • Mr. Matt Hull, Texas
  • Mr. Tim Pierce, Texas
The Advisory Council is comprised of 13 representatives from state, community and nonprofit organizations in a five-state District who are appointed by the FHLB Dallas Board of Directors (Board) and advise the Board on affordable housing and economic development issues. 

“The Advisory Council consists of experienced affordable housing and economic development executives who fulfill a key role in guiding the Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas on its community investment offerings in our five-state District,” said Greg Hettrick, first vice president and director of Community Investment for FHLB Dallas. 

Since the inception of FHLB Dallas’ Affordable Housing Program (AHP) in 1990, FHLB Dallas has awarded more than $324 million through AHP and Homeownership Set-Aside Programs assisting nearly 56,500 households.

The newly elected members:
  • Dr. Calvin R. King Sr., of Brinkley, Arkansas. Dr King is the founder, president and CEO of the Arkansas Land and Farm Development Corp. The nonprofit, community development organization in Fargo, Arkansas, directs community education, economic development, housing and farm program support services. It has assisted farmers in retaining land ownership, developed housing and created small rural business opportunities. It worked with African-American farmers to introduce the production of alternative crops to enhance the economic sustainability for minority farmers and affordable housing development in low-income rural communities. The organization is active in 42 counties. Dr. King has received numerous state and national recognitions for his work with African-American farmers and other small landowners with limited resources. In 1990, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation recognized Dr. King's work by bestowing a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, the Genius Award, recognizing Dr. King as an individual who has fostered lasting human condition improvements. 
  • Ms. Deborah Welchel, of Lago Vista, Texas, is a senior development director (Texas) of Volunteers of America National Services, a subsidiary of Volunteers of America (VOA). The organization’s mission is to advance, support, promote and administer health, housing and supportive services. VOA has more than 500 properties nationwide (22,000 units). Ms. Welchel is responsible for development, acquisition or preservation of affordable housing utilizing federal, state, local and private funding sources that include Low Income Housing Tax Credits in Texas. She has been working in the affordable housing and the community development field in Texas since 1995 when she started working at the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs as a credit underwriting manager. She has also worked in various roles for The Siegel Group; Edgewater Group Companies; National Development Council and Mayfair Management Group. 
The following board members were reappointed:
  • Mr. Samuel Sanders, of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, executive director of Mid City Redevelopment Alliance Inc. which is a NeighborWorks America certified community revitalization organization. The organization offers programs and services that sustain homeownership promotion, homeownership preservation services, community building and engagement, and real estate development.
  • Ms. Michelle DenBleyker, of Albuquerque, New Mexico, senior vice president of development for YES Housing. She has worked more than 10 years at YES Housing, which seeks to build and revitalize communities with quality, affordable housing and accessible social services. Ms. DenBleyker is representing New Mexico in her reappointment to the board. 
  • Mr. Matt Hull, of Austin, Texas, the executive director of the Texas Association of the Community Development Corporations (TACDC). The mission of the TACDC is to improve the lives of low- to moderate-income Texans by strengthening the capacity of community development organizations as well as to generate resources and relationships that enhance and sustain the community development industry in Texas. Mr. Hull’s responsibilities as executive director include the day-to-day operations of the organization as well as providing advocacy, research and technical assistance to TACDC members.
  • Mr. Tim Pierce, of Lubbock, Texas, the executive director of the South Plains Association of Governments (SPAG) for the past 16 years. SPAG is a political subdivision of the state of Texas charged with the operation and implementation of numerous state and federal programs within 15 counties of the Southern Plains of Texas. Those programs include Area Agency on Aging, 2-1-1, 9-1-1, Small Business Administration Certified Development Company, Community Development Block Grant grant writing and administration including the HOME program and regional water planning.
Most appointments began January 1 and will expire in 2023. Ms. Den Bleyker’s seat expires at the end of 2021, and Ms. Welchel’s seat expires at the end of 2022.

The remaining members of the Advisory Council are:
  • Mr. Jim Petty, president and CEO, Strategic Realty Developers Inc.,Van Buren, Arkansas
  • Mr. Keith Cunningham, executive director, Louisiana Housing Corp., Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • Ms. Michelle Whetten, vice president and impact market leader, Gulf Coast Enterprise Community Partners Inc., New Orleans, Louisiana
  • Ms. Angela Curry, executive director, Greenwood-Leflore-Carroll Economic Development Foundation, Greenwood, Mississippi
  • Mr. Chris Monforton, CEO, Habitat for Humanity Mississippi Gulf Coast Ocean Springs, Mississippi
  • Mr. Jeff Curry, director of development/co-owner, JL Gray Co., Las Cruces, New Mexico
  • Ms. Jacque Haas Woodring, chief of staff, Prospera Housing Community Services, San Antonio, Texas

About the Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas

The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas is one of 11 district banks in the FHLBank system created by Congress in 1932. FHLB Dallas, with total assets of $66.3 billion as of September 30, 2020, is a member-owned cooperative that supports housing and community development by providing competitively priced advances and other credit products to approximately 800 members and associated institutions in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico and Texas. Visit for more information.

Contact Information:

Corporate Communications
Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas