Skip Navigation

Member Bulletin

  • October 31, 2019
  • Bulletin No: 2019-23

Mississippi and Texas Counties Declared Disaster Areas

In response to severe storms, flooding and tornadoes in Mississippi that began on February 22, 2019, and Tropical Storm Imelda that affected parts of the Texas Gulf Coast between September 17, 2019 and September 23, 2019, the Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas (Bank) has made available its Disaster Relief Program (DRP), a low-cost advance program, to assist recovery efforts in the affected areas. Additionally, affected residents are eligible for the Bank's Disaster Rebuilding Assistance Program, a grant program designed to support households in the Bank's member communities that have been declared disaster areas eligible for individual assistance by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

On September 20, 2019, the following Mississippi counties were designated as disaster areas and qualified for individual assistance by FEMA: Clay, Humphreys, Issaquena, Lowndes, Monroe, Sharkey, Warren and Yazoo. The following Texas counties were designated as disaster areas and qualified for individual assistance on October 4, 2019: Chambers, Harris, Jefferson, Liberty, Montgomery, Orange and San Jacinto.

The DRP makes subsidized advances available to members to assist individuals and families whose homes or businesses were damaged or destroyed as a result of the storms and/or flooding. 

Under the DRP:
• Funds are priced below the Bank's regular Community Investment Program (CIP) rates
• Income eligibility limits are expanded to 165 percent of the area median income
• Advances terms range from three months to 40 years

Individuals and business owners located within FEMA-declared disaster areas may apply for the funds through the Bank's member financial institutions. Funding under the DRP will be available through April 30, 2020.

For more detailed DRP information, including application forms, visit the Bank's website at and select the "Disaster Relief" tab, or contact Member Services at 844.345.2265.

Under the Disaster Rebuilding Assistance Program:
• Grants are available to homeowners, who are at or below 80 percent of the area median income, up to $10,000 for repair and construction costs not covered by insurance or federal or state emergency assistance  

• Homes must be located within the counties listed above or any counties that are subsequently declared as disaster areas by FEMA
• Homeowners must have 30 days of current ownership and must have had primary ownership of the home as of the date of the FEMA disaster declaration
• This is a grant program and funds are not repaid
• Grants are available on a first-come, first-served basis

Members may apply for Disaster Rebuilding Assistance Program grants until funds are exhausted or December 31, 2019, whichever comes first. For more detailed program information, including application forms, visit or contact Community Investment at 800.362.2944.


Thank you for your valued partnership.



Sanjay K. Bhasin
President and Chief Executive Officer