Skip Navigation
  • January 14, 2022

Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas Announces 2022 Advisory Council Members

DALLAS, TEXAS, January 14, 2022 — The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas (FHLB Dallas) is pleased to announce the appointment of four new members of its Affordable Housing Advisory Council (Advisory Council) and one reappointment.

New members: 

  • Ms. Nicole Barnes, Louisiana representative
  • Ms. Charla Blake, Louisiana representative
  • Ms. Nicole Martinez, New Mexico representative
  • Mr. Isidoro Hernandez, Housing Finance representative, all District
  • Ms. Angela Curry, Mississippi
The Advisory Council is comprised of 13 representatives from state, community and nonprofit organizations in a five-state District who are appointed by the FHLB Dallas Board of Directors (Board) and advise the Board on affordable housing and economic development issues. 

“We are thrilled to have these four new members and Ms. Curry’s reappointment to the Advisory Council. Their wide variety of expertise and impressive depth of experience in housing and housing finance matters will fulfill a key role in guiding FHLB Dallas on its community investment offerings in our five-state District,” said Greg Hettrick, first vice president and director of Community Investment for FHLB Dallas. 

Since the inception of FHLB Dallas’ Affordable Housing Program (AHP) in 1990, FHLB Dallas has awarded $344.6 million through AHP and Homeownership Set-Aside Programs assisting nearly 60,000households.

The newly elected members:
Ms. Barnes is executive director of the New Orleans, Louisiana-based Jericho Road Episcopal Housing Initiative, a neighborhood-based nonprofit homebuilder that provides affordable housing opportunities in the Southeastern Louisiana region. She has held that position since 2012. Her experience includes 17 years in various roles at the New Orleans Housing Authority prior to her current role.

Ms. Blake has been executive director for Lake Charles, Louisiana-based Project Build a Future (PBAF), a nonprofit affordable housing builder, since 2017. Prior to that role, she was the community development coordinator for the Arts and Humanities Council of Southwest Louisiana. She also serves on the Lake Charles Historic Preservation Commission.

Ms. Martinez has been the executive director of the Las Cruces, New Mexico-Mesilla Valley Community of Hope (MVCH) since 2011. MVCH provides shelter services to the homeless population in Las Cruces and Dona Ana County, New Mexico. She was appointed by the governor to the New Mexico Housing Trust Fund Advisory Committee and is also a member of the New Mexico Mortgage Finance Authority Allocation Committee and the Housing New Mexico Advisory Committee.

Mr. Hernandez has been executive director and CEO of the Albuquerque-based New Mexico Mortgage Finance Authority (MFA) since January 2020. Mr. Hernandez, of Los Lunas, New Mexico, is the Advisory Council’s Housing Finance Agency representative. The MFA is responsible for more than 30 affordable housing-related programs, including construction and rehabilitation. He has held a variety of positions at MFA over a 29-year period. Mr. Hernandez also served 32 years with the New Mexico Army National Guard where he retired as a colonel.  

The following board member was reappointed:
Ms. Curry has been executive director of the Greenwood, Mississippi-based Greenwood-Leflore-Carroll Economic Development Foundation since 2008 and with the organization since 1998. Its mission is to foster and encourage job creation/retention and improved quality of life in the Greenwood-Leflore-Carroll area. Her professional affiliations include the Southern Economic Development Council and the Mississippi Economic Development Council.

Appointments began on January 1. Ms. Barnes will serve a two-year term. All other new appointees and Ms. Curry will serve three-year terms.

The remaining members of the Advisory Council are:
  • Mr. Jeff Curry, director of development, JL Gray Company, Inc., Las Cruces, New Mexico
  • Mr. Matt Hull, executive director, Texas Association of Community Development Corporations, Austin, Texas
  • Dr. Calvin King Sr., president and CEO, Arkansas Land and Farm Development, Brinkley, Arkansas
  • Mr. Chris Monforton (Advisory Council Vice Chair), CEO, Habitat for Humanity Mississippi Gulf Coast, Gulfport, Mississippi
  • Mr. Jim Petty, president and CEO, Strategic Realty Developers, Inc., Van Buren, Arkansas
  • Mr. Tim Pierce, executive director, South Plains Association of Governments, Lubbock, Texas
  • Ms. Deborah Welchel, senior development director for Texas, Volunteers of America National Services, Lago Vista, Texas
  • Ms. Jacque Haas Woodring (Advisory Council Chair), chief of staff, Prospera Housing Community Services, San Antonio, Texas
About the Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas
The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas is one of 11 district banks in the FHLBank System created by Congress in 1932. FHLB Dallas, with total assets of $60.2 billion as of September 30, 2021, is a member-owned cooperative that supports housing and community development by providing competitively priced loans and other credit products to approximately 800 members and associated institutions in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico and Texas. For more information, visit our website at

Contact Information:

Corporate Communications
Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas