Skip Navigation

Member Bulletin

  • November 12, 2021
  • Bulletin No: 2021-22

2021 Director Election Results

The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas (Bank) is pleased to announce the results of the 2021 election for five positions on the Bank’s Board of Directors (Board), which consisted of one member director seat each in Arkansas, Louisiana and Texas, and two independent director seats.  Each of these director seats has a four-year term commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2025. There were no member director seats to be filled this year for Mississippi or New Mexico.  
Michael C. Hutsell and Albert C. Christman were the sole candidates for the Arkansas and Louisiana member director seats, respectively, and therefore members were not requested to cast votes for those positions. There were nine candidates for the Texas member director seat and James D. Goudge was re-elected to fill the seat. Dorsey L. Baskin, Jr. and Sally I. Nelson were the sole candidates for the two independent director seats. Neither seat was a public interest director seat.   Mr. Goudge, Mr. Baskin and Ms. Nelson were elected as described below.
The total number of votes eligible to be cast in the election for the independent director seats was 4,861,083. A total of 202 ballots were received for the independent director seats; however, some of those ballots were blank. Consequently, 190 valid ballots were counted for the independent director seats. The total number of votes eligible to be cast for the Texas member director seat was 3,237,342. For the Texas member director seat, there was only one blank ballot, and 124 valid ballots were received.
The detailed results of the election were as follows:
Arkansas Member Director                                         Number of Votes Cast
Michael C. Hutsell                                                               Sole Candidate
First Security Bank
314 N. Spring Street
Searcy, AR 72143
Louisiana Member Director                                         Number of Votes Cast
Albert C. Christman                                                             Sole Candidate
Chairman and CEO
Guaranty Bank & Trust Company of Delhi
120 Oak Street
Delhi, LA 71232
Texas Member Director                                               Number of Votes Cast
James D. Goudge                                                                      285,408
Executive Vice President
Broadway National Bank
1177 N.E. Loop 410
San Antonio, TX 78209
Kendall Garrison                                                                        244,556
Amplify Credit Union
3600 West Parmer Lane
Austin, TX 78727
Brett Seybold                                                                             216,328
SVP, Corporate Treasurer
9800 Fredericksburg Road
San Antonio, TX 78288
Peter Esmond Fisher                                                                 131,985
Prosperity Bank
1301 N. Mechanic Street
El Campo, TX 77437
S. David Deanda, Jr.                                                                    99,727
Lone Star National Bank
206 West Ferguson Avenue
Pharr, TX 78577
Thomas E. Turner                                                                        86,753
Chairman and CEO
The First State Bank
402 9th Street
Abernathy, TX 79311
Andrew Tomalin                                                                          59,726
Advancial Federal Credit Union
1845 Woodall Rogers Frwy., Ste. 1300
Dallas, TX 75021
John Andrew (Andy) Marshall                                                  49,975
CEO, President and Director
FirstBank Southwest
2401 S. Georgia Street
Amarillo, TX 79120
Chirag Patel                                                                                   26,728
Chairman of the Board
American Bank, N.A.
8000 N. MacArthur Blvd.
Irving, TX 75063
Independent Directors                                     Number of Votes Cast
Sally I. Nelson                                                                         1,388,532
Chairperson and CEO                                                                          
Nextwave Ventures
Huntsville, TX 77340
Dorsey L. Baskin, Jr.                                                               1,380,291
Retired Partner
Grant Thornton LLP                                                                              
Dallas, TX 75230
As required, Ms. Nelson and Mr. Baskin received at least 20 percent of the votes eligible to be cast in the election to fill the directorship for which they were nominated. Biographical information on the independent directors is provided below.
If you have any questions regarding the election process, please contact Bre Chapman, Corporate Secretary, at 214.441.8459.

Sanjay K. Bhasin
President and Chief Executive Officer
Biographical Information for the Independent Directors:
Sally I. Nelson
Sally I. Nelson serves as Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer of Nextwave Ventures, a privately held real estate company located in Huntsville, Texas, and has served in such capacities since March 2015. From January 2013 until January 2014, Ms. Nelson served as an advisor to the Huntsville Memorial Hospital board of directors and as the chairman of the Huntsville Memorial Hospital Foundation. From 2007 until January 2013, Ms. Nelson served as Chief Executive Officer of Huntsville Memorial Hospital. Prior to that, she served as a board member and officer of the Greater Houston Area Chapter of the American Red Cross from 2005 to 2008. From 1986 to 2004, Ms. Nelson served as Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operations Officer of Texas Children's Hospital in Houston, Texas. From 1999 to 2005, she served as chair of the Finance and Audit committees of the United Way of Houston. Ms. Nelson is a Certified Public Accountant. She currently serves as Vice Chairman of the Strategic Planning, Operations and Technology Committee of the Bank’s Board of Directors.
Dorsey L. Baskin, Jr.
Dorsey L. Baskin, Jr. is a retired partner of Grant Thornton LLP. Mr. Baskin joined Grant Thornton in 2002 as an audit partner and served in that capacity until his retirement in 2016. From 2002 to 2011, he also served as one of the firm's five National Professional Practice Directors. Further, from 2011 until his retirement in 2016, Mr. Baskin served as the firm’s National Assurance Innovation Managing Partner. Prior to joining Grant Thornton, Mr. Baskin spent 25 years with Arthur Andersen LLP. He joined Arthur Andersen’s audit practice in 1977 and served as a partner from 1989 to 2002. In addition, Mr. Baskin served as a member of Arthur Andersen’s Accounting Principles Group from 1987 to 1989, as National Technical Director and Regulatory Liaison for the Banking Industry Audit Practice from 1989 to 1999, and as Managing Director of the Global Assurance Professional Standards Group from 1999 to 2002. Beginning early in his career, Mr. Baskin specialized in the financial services industry. Over the course of his 39-year career in public accounting, he served on numerous task forces and committees in support of the accounting profession, was a frequent speaker on technical accounting and auditing topics, and authored numerous papers and articles on such topics. Since his retirement, Mr. Baskin has worked as an independent consultant and has from time to time served as an accounting expert witness. Mr. Baskin is a Certified Public Accountant.